Cogitation · Uncategorized

|Sunday Cogitation|

It’s Sunday…

I am sick.

And I am wondering why the sun is so loud and… sniffle, sniffle.

Musical indulgence: TRNDSTTR

It has nothing to do with what I really intend to talk about in this post (haha), which is  s.k.i.n.
I think what I aim for the most in life (among other things) is good skin. I want to be 72 years old and looking like I am 50! I want to slay like Sade Adu, Angela Bassett, Nia Long, etc.
When I meet someone and that person has good skin, it is a must for me to let them know. The follow-up question is: so what do you use to keep that face beat for the gods?

For some, it’s quite simple: soap and water.
It always leaves me speechless because I cannot imagine life without moisturizing. I don’t comprehend how soap and water is sufficient to keep it right and tight, but, different strokes for different folks.

I started using all natural products for my face when I was 16 years old. I felt like using the basic drug store products was not working for me. Back then I was solely using lemon oil for a while until I slowly but surely incorporated other oils in my skincare routine. I am no expert, but the more natural the product the better. I now use different oils for different results.

¤Avocado oil nourishes and restores my skin when it feels dry.
¤Jojoba oil is for a glowing complexion. It leaves my skin feeling supple.
¤I use coconut oil on everything. It’s the foundation of my life! I use it on my hair, I use it as makeup remover (still waiting on my friend Midori to try it out), I add it to my body lotion, I cook with it. During the summer, I smear my legs with coconut oil (yes, it is uncomfortable for 5 minutes, but it’s worth it. Ladies, summer is around the corner).
¤I use almond oil and/or argan oil when I feel like my skin needs deep conditioning.

Keep in mind I use all of these oils for hair and skin. I do not spend a whole lot of money on it; it lasts at least 6 months. I am not a baller.

I have to admit that when I was in Cameroon, I knew that a gel-based face cream would be best (Splurge!). It’s too hot to use any oils on your face. Aquasource hydration gel from Biotherm was the perfect choice. It’s light yet very hydrating. Before going to bed I’d use LANEIGE’s Water Sleeping Mask (get on it and thank me later).

I’m a little obsessed with anything natural (healthy living, healthy choices. Definitely adulting… wait, I still have to do my taxes! Haaaa!)

My friend Tara uses Just Natural products and seems to really love it. Needless to say, her skin is flawless. Their products are “made with love” (it’s the secret to their success, haha) and most importantly, they are made with a wide variety of Eco-friendly ingredients from around the world. (I just spent an hour reading about all their ingredients).

Another friend of mine, Karelle, uses LUSH products. She uses all of what they have to offer. Hair products – R&B being her favorite for her curls. Face moisturizer – Gorgeous. Exfoliant – Dark Angels. (Dark angel is amazing, but nothing beats a good ol’ St.Ives Exfoliating Apricot Scrub.)
LUSH is a company that prides itself on ethical buying, being 100%vegetarian, fighting animal testing and charitable givings.SKINCARE REG

Others use skincare brands like: Savonnerie La Flâneuse, Vichy, Biotherm, Clinique, The Face Shop, LANEIGE, La Mer, Kiehl’s, Mélia, etc.

My brothers used to talk so much **** about my obsession with all natural oils. I KNOW they use my homemade masks, my natural soaps, and homemade face creams when I am not home. I am glad they realized it’s not just a girl’s thing.

I’m curious to know, what’s your skincare routine? Men and women!

Merci for reading!

Bisous!

p.s: sometimes after eating my fruits, I apply the remains on my face once I am done eating it. Watermelon, banana, oranges, papaya. It’s all good for your skin.
but sshhh… nobody needs to know. It’s between us, fam!

4 thoughts on “|Sunday Cogitation|

  1. Naomi… Please give us recipes!! Where do you buy your oils? One of my favourite beauty secrets for dry skin is lactic acid!! I have very dry feet so that really does the trick to exfoliate them. I just add a tiny bit to my lotions. I also have some vitamin C powder that I mix with water and glycerine+rose water, to make a serum! Excellent for when my face is looking dull.

    Anyways, I want this conversation to keep on going, please do more of these 🙂

    Love ya

    PS. Can you tell how excited I am? Skincare gives me life lol

    PPS. not sure if there’s anything chapter around but this is where I get some of my supplies: saffireblue.ca ; iherb.ca ; well.com

    Like

  2. My shampoo and conditioner NEED to have coconut oil in it, it makes all difference. Also I wasnt happy with my skin even though I had a daily routine until I added coconut oil and olive oil into my nightly routine of taking off my makeup, then washing it with a tea tree facial wash from the body shop and then some avene moisturizer. Oils make ALL the difference!!

    Like

  3. Ditto!…can we have the recipes already ?!? I have very dry skin and I LOVE coconut oil (I put that ish on everything). It’s the perfect moisturizer and makeup remover. Lately I’ve been using the pure argan milk from Josie Maran + ultra repair cream from FAB as my facial moisturizers.

    Like

    1. Sukooooooo♥
      A friend of mine shared with me that she uses des glaçons aussi. Like straight up rubbing un cube de glaçon sur le visage hahahaha. After a mask or whatever… AND SHE HAS AMAZING SKIN TRUST ME.

      Funny, i have from pure Argan oil from Africa – Maroc and i have read that people got rashes from Josie Maran, FAQUE JTAI COMME CHU PO SURE LA! Mais ça me rassure que ça n’ait pas été le cas pour toi. Ouf! When i run outta the bottle I have, I’ll mos def look into this, or try and get someone to bring me some when they travel hahaha!

      What’s this FAB cream though!? You have good skin, what’s thaaaat?

      Like

Comments?

